Statewide Film Liaison Network

Throughout the State, the New Mexico Film Office (NMFO) works with many individuals with local knowledge and relationships who assist with a variety of industry activities. These activities may include searching for local filming locations (scouting), relaying location information, submitting location photographs, collecting statistics, securing permits and facilitating production and community relations. This network of relationships is vital in maintaining a united front to attract productions to New Mexico and to disseminate industry news and resources.

Many communities have designated one of these individuals as their film liaison. Often this individual will have relationships with the local fire and police departments, the chamber of commerce and municipal airport as well as businesses and property owners. The liaison becomes an industry point person who represents their city, county, pueblo or tribe. In several communities, this is a person already employed by the city or tribe, often in the chamber, visitor’s bureau, economic development division or other government office. In a few instances, the local film liaison is a volunteer who may be a former employee of a local government entity. New Mexico also has a few communities that have created a local film office that specifically employs an individual solely with this job responsibility.

The NMFO does not determine who will be the film liaison for a community, county, pueblo or tribe.

The NMFO does not determine the role of that local liaison; however, the NMFO does encourage this person become sanctioned as a State Film Liaison.


2018 Film Liaison Network (updated 10/23/2018)

*sanctioned by the New Mexico State Film Office

 

Town: First: Last: Number: Alt. Number: Email:
Alamogordo Michelle Brideaux* 575-439-4264 575-415-5214 mbrideaux@ci.alamogordo.nm.us
Albuquerque Amber Dodson 505-768-3283 505-786-3278 adodson@cabq.gov
Angel Fire Jimmy Linton 575-377-6555  jimmy@angelfirefun.com
Belen Steven Tomita* 505-270-8181 505-966-2745 steven.tomita@belen-nm.gov
Bernalillo County Marcos Gonzales 505-468-1383 maagonzales@bernco.gov
Bernalillo County Sulema Lenz slenz@bernco.gov
Carlsbad/Eddy County Jeff Campbell* 575-302-4751 jeff.campbell@developcarlsbad.org
Carlsbad/Eddy County John Waters* 575-302-5651 jwaters@developcarlsbad.org 
Carrizozo Lisa Maue 575-973-3239 lisabethmaue@gmail.com
Cerrillos Todd Brown* 505-438-3008 brownp52@yahoo.com
Clayton April Gallegos 575-374-9253 cuchamber@plateautel.net
Clovis/Curry County Nicholas Mondragon* 575-268-8745(c) 575-763-3435 clovisnm@clovisnm.org 
Corona Jason Gibbs 575-849-5511 jason.villageofcorona@plateautel.net
Deming/Luna County Cassie Arias 575-546-8848 x118 carias@cityofdeming.org
Edgewood (Town of) Courtney LaBrum 505-286-4518 505-610-3037 Clabrum@edgewood-nm.gov
Farmington/San Juan County Tonya Stinson* 505-326-7602 505 330-4654 tonya@farmingtonnm.org
Gallup Everett Homer* 505-726-7550 ehomer@gallupnm.gov
Grants Chris Roybal 505.287.7927 x2004 505.553.3295 marketing@grantsnm.gov
Las Cruces Jon Foley 575-805-3456 575-635-2140 jon@filmlascruces.com
Las Vegas Angelica Lyster* 505-454-1401
ext. 1604
505-429-1298 alyster@lasvegasnm.gov
Los Alamos Kelly Stewart* 505-662-8087 505-412-3410 kelly.stewart@lacnm.us
Magdalena Diego Montoya* 575-418-7594 928-871-7826 diegom.575@gmail.com
Navajo Edsel Pete 520-247-3366 epete@navajo-nsn.gov
Otero County Jan Wafful* 575-437-7427 575-491-4017 jwafful@gmail.com
Raton Lucas Jansen 575-643-7501 lucasaj2013@gmail.com
Rio Arriba County Al Duran alfduran6837@gmail.com
Rio Rancho Noah Trujillo* 505-891-7339 505-274-3082 ntrujillo@rrnm.gov
Roswell Juanita Jennings* 575-637-6203 575-626-5451 jn.jennings@roswell-nm.gov
Sandoval County Emily Stovel* 505-867-7599 estovel@sandovalcountynm.gov
Santa Clara James Baca 505-423-2422 sheriff@santaclarapueblo.org
Santa Fe Eric Witt* 505-660-1083 ewitt@sffo.film
Santa Fe Jennifer LaBar 505-986-6293 jlabar@sffo.film
Santa Rosa Rita Smith 505-681-2066 575-427-0027 rita.smith2015@yahoo.com
Silver City Emily Gojkovich egojkovich@gmail.com
Socorro Kat MacDonald 575-835-0424 socochamberdirector@gmail.com
Truth or Consequences Cary “Jagger” Gustin* 575-312-2050 tailorman53@yahoo.com
Taos Ava Stern* 505-501-1771 Astern@iteratepartners.com
Taos Pueblo Ilona Spruce* 575-758-1028 ispruce@taospueblo.com
Tucumcari/Quay County Carmen Runyan 575-461-1694 chamber@tucumcarinm.com
Village of Pecos Angela Peinado 505-757-6591 505-412-2888 angela@villageofpecos.com
Zia Pueblo Roberta Chinana* 505-337-2104 505-252-1635 RChinana@ZiaPueblo.org

Process to Become a Sanctioned State Film Liaison

1.        Submit a letter of endorsement stating you are the State Film Liaison from a local government official, such as your Mayor, City Manager, County Commissioner or a Tribal Official to the NMFO; and

2.        Contact the NMFO regarding the State Film Liaison Manual; and

3.        Attend a NMFO Location Photos Workshop; and

4.        Attend the NMFO Annual Liaisons Meeting; and

5.        Sign the Film Liaison Guidelines Agreement; and

6.        Fill out the Film Liaison Contact Sheet

In addition, sanctioned film liaisons are encouraged to:

7.        Take the Film Fundamentals online course available through the Association of Film Commissioners International (AFCI) website.

Communities may only have one designated State Film Liaison and some may choose to have one Assistant State Film Liaison. Either the endorsed State Film Liaison must email or write the NMFO to inform us of their designee or the assistant must have a letter of endorsement on letterhead submitted to the NMFO by a government official of the said city, community, county, tribe or pueblo.

To see a list of the current State Film Liaisons click here.

For more information, please email Barbara Kerford, or call 505-476-5671.  

New Mexico AFCI Member Film Offices

The Association of Film Commissioners International (AFCI) is an international, non-profit, educational organization of government employees serving as film commissioners. The association’s purpose is to act as a liaison between the visual communications industry and local governments or organizations to facilitate on-location production and to stimulate economic benefit for member governments.

The New Mexico Film Office has a volunteer network of community film liaisons throughout the state to help facilitate on-location production. Five of our liaison communities have met the criteria for AFCI members along with the New Mexico Film Office.

 

Albuquerque Film & Television Office Otero County Film Office
Las Cruces Film Office Santa Fe Film Office
New Mexico Film Office