December 1, 2017

Honorable Susana Martinez, Governor Honorable Brian Egolf, House Speaker Honorable Mary Kay Papen, President Pro Tempore Secretary Matthew B. Geisel, Economic Development Department

Madams and Sirs,

Pursuant to Section 9-15-4.1 NMSA 1978, the annual report of the Governor's Council on Film and Media Industries (the Council) is as follows:

The quarterly meetings for 2017 took place on February 13<sup>th</sup>, May 4<sup>th</sup>, August 24<sup>th</sup>, and November 9<sup>th</sup>. We held two of these meetings via conference call in order to save money for the New Mexico Film Office.

The Council is currently comprised of eight members, each appointed by the Governor per statue for four-year staggered terms provided that the initial appointments shall be made so that one-half of the members shall be appointed for two-year terms and one-half of the members shall be appointed for four-year terms. The Executive Board consists of seven members and meets on an as needed basis. Please find a list of Executive Board Members and Board Members below.

EXECUTIVE BOARD	BOARD MEMBERS
Alicia Keyes, Board Chairperson	Talia Kosh, Outreach Chairperson
Chris Eyre	Steve Rooney (Deceased)
Teri Farley, Emerging Media Chairperson	Rajeev Nirmalakandan
Greg Hewett	Tonya Stinson
Kara Sachs	

It is with much sadness that we report Steve Rooney died this year in a tragic car accident.

Please note that Chris Eyre, Teri Farley and Kara Sachs have technically termed off, but are still attending meetings until the Governor's Office elect's replacement members.

Per statue, the Governor's Council on Film and Media Industries is created to advise the department and the Governor on ways to promote film production in New Mexico, assist in the design and implementation of the department's strategic plan for building a media infrastructure in the state, assist in designing a workforce training program for film production and to make recommendations for incentives and funding for these efforts.

In 2013 the Council underwent an extensive strategic planning session. Most notably, during that session, we altered the Council's mission statement to read:

"To serve as a resource and recommending body to the Governor and the NM Film

Office (NMFO) to promote film, television and emerging media within and throughout New Mexico and assist in carrying out the Economic Development Department's Film Division strategic plan."

During 2017, the Council invited Nick Maniatis, NM Film Office Director to address the Council regarding legislative issues and updates; we also invited Jon Hendry (IATSE Local 480), Nani Rivera (IATSE Local 480), Steven Tomita (Belen Film Liaison), Kelly Stewart (Los Alamos Film Liaison), Eric Witt (SF Film Office), Jennifer LaBar (SF Film Office) and Jordan Guenther (Director, Brand Market and Advertising for NMTD) throughout the year. Please see all agendas and minutes attached.

In addition to the above, we continued to focus on empowering our Outreach sub-committee to work with NMFO and the community to assist in supporting and promoting film, television and media within the State. Below please find the Outreach sub-committee report on their initiatives and accomplishments for 2017.

## **OUTREACH SUBCOMMITTEE REPORT**

Chairperson, Talia Kosh

In consideration of work performed throughout 2017, in alignment with: (1) the Council's strategic plan; and (2) working with the Outreach Coordinator of NMFO on key Outreach efforts, the Council will continue on its path of programmatic and outreach support. Subcommittee on Outreach asserts that continuing to strengthen this relationship and working with and assisting the Outreach Coordinator with the Film Education Summit; is ways to best serve the NMFO.

The Sub-Committee on Outreach reports and recommends the following:

The Sub-Committee recommends that the Council and the NMFO use its best efforts to continue to ensure that the relationship between the Outreach Coordinator, NMFO Director and the Sub-Committees be a key collaborative partnership between the NMFO and the Council for the following programs and outreach efforts:

**Film Education Summit:** The NMFO will host its annual Film & Media Education Summit in February 2018 and the Council has been instrumental in organizing a Sub Committee of film educators to guide this event. The event is open to administrators, educators, guidance counselors and advisors from the secondary and higher education levels.

- a) The Sub-committee on Outreach (of the Council) recommends that this <u>Subcommittee for the Film Education Summit</u> be formed annually and at least two members of the Council should continue to be appointed by the Outreach Coordinator, at the suggestion of the Council, on an annual basis, to work specifically on the Film Education Summit. It is further recommended that the other members of the Subcommittee for the Film Education Summit be film educators.
- b) The structure of the Summit in 2018 is intended included not only panels, lectures and conversations on a variety of topics, but to strengthen a network for the participants.

**Internship Database**: It was found in 2014 that a State-wide database for internships in the Film Industry is greatly needed.

a) It is recommended that the Council continue to include this in future discussions.

In conclusion, we are honored to be appointed to the Governor's Council and look forward to supporting the Governor's office, the Economic Development Department and the New Mexico Film Office throughout our terms.

Respectfully submitted:

Alicia Keyes, Chairperson Chris Eyre Teri Farley Greg Hewett Talia Kosh Rajeev Nirmalakandan Kara Sachs Tonya Stinson

cc: Keith Gardner, Chief of Staff, Office of Governor Susana Martinez Nick Maniatis, Director, New Mexico State Film Office